LIFE BEGINS BEYOND MY COMFORT ZONE

As I was reading a recent astrological report from Lorna Bevan  this phrase jumped out at me: “Life begins beyond my comfort zone.” I can relate. Looking back at my own life, I can see that such times “beyond my comfort zone” have been the times of greatest growth. The trick is to recognize this while immersed in new and probably fearful and painful territory.

The comfort zone represents complacency. I LOVE my comfort zone! It’s cozy, predictable, won’t push my buttons or push me beyond my perceived limits. It’s a great place for a rest. It’s also eventually boring. Why are we here? To feel comfortable? Or to experience life as a human in its fullest possibility, as a part of and representative of Source? I’m sure it’s the latter.

I’m not talking about drama, here. We create drama when we want to avoid dealing with something outside the zone. Drama drags us back into the zone, and is another form of it—a distraction from discovering and facing truth. To many, pain and suffering represent the comfort zone, because they are familiar and “predictable.” We can avoid self-searching and self-knowledge, we can avoid taking responsibility for ourselves, by immersing ourselves in drama and victimhood.

I remember John Armitage once telling a story about when he started teaching Shamballa as Master Germain wanted him to, helping people move beyond Reiki. Those who felt challenged by his teachings, who were afraid of losing comfortable doctrines and ways of doing things that they held dear, or perhaps just losing their livelihood, protested. Some sent hate mail. As he was driving to teach somewhere in Europe, he was remonstrating to Kuthumi (John often has conversations with multidimensional Masters on his road trips). “Why should I continue with this project? Look at how these people are reacting!” etc. etc. Kuthumi came back with, “My friend, you are not here to become the world’s most popular person.” John says that got him back on track. Yes, he was outside his comfort zone. John usually is. He’s learned to live there, and that is the mark of mastery.

One of my favorite quotes is from Neal Donald Walsh’s Conversations With God:

The reason that the true master does not complain is that the true master is not suffering, but simply experiencing a set of circumstances that you would call insufferable.

I’ve got that one up on my bathroom mirror, staring me in the face every morning as I wash the sleep out of my eyes and the dream-webs out of my brain. There are many times in my life that I have found myself muttering, “I’m merely experiencing! I’m merely experiencing! I’m merely experiencing!” Such as the time my car died at a stoplight in the middle of a 4-lane highway (it turned out a tow truck had pulled up right behind me. THANKS, universe!). Or when my house burned down—and two years later my temporary house as well. Or last week when the water froze and the chimney got stopped up, all during minus 20 degree weather. That time I was shouting “What the bleep am I supposed to be learning here!” Not my finest moment.

Once we can get over ourselves and laugh during such experiences “outside our comfort zones” we are on the way to mastery, to living a joyful life, to experiencing life on earth as a true human and a spiritual being having a human experience.

So, pat yourself on the back when you remember to be thankful for those times that life pushed you outside the comfort zone. Laugh at yourself when you remember times that perhaps you went beyond merely experiencing, and those around you learned a few new words. You’re human! But not ONLY human. And human is a pretty cool thing to be.

In love & light, Phyllis

Photo: Phyllis at Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam

Beyond Your Cosmic Parachute workshop with John Armitage
July 23, 24, 25, 2016
Carondelet Center, 1890 Randolph Ave., St. Paul, MN 55105 contact: mbcurry516@gmail.com

www.taliloquay.com

www.new-paradigm-mdt.org

www.johnarmitage.me

Published by

phyllismbrooks

Metaphysical teacher, author, seeker. New Paradigm MDT, Soul Wisdom remote energy clearings, Taliloquay Vibrational Remedies. Artist.

One thought on “LIFE BEGINS BEYOND MY COMFORT ZONE”

Leave a Reply

